Battle of Milne Bay

alt

Join us to commemorate the Battle of Milne Bay, which ended September 7, 1942.  (Runs on Sept. 6 to avoid conflict with another event.)

In August, 1942, the Japanese launched an invasion of allied-held Milne Bay, first softening it up with air attacks, then invading with elite Japanese marines -- the Kaigun Rikusentai. It was part of the Japanese plan to capture New Guinea and to use it as a launching point for attacks upon Australia and its supply lines.

To this point in the war, the Japanese had been nearly invincible in battle, dealing many crushing defeats to their enemies. Here, fighting to hold the stepping stone to their country, fighting with troops, P-40's, and Hudson bombers against Japanese forces that included Type 95 Ha-Go tanks, the Australians were the ones to prevail.

"Some of us may forget that of all the Allies it was the Australian soldiers who first broke the spell of the invincibility of the Japanese Army; those of us who were in Burma have cause to remember." -- Field Marshal Sir William Slim


Welcome to This Day in WWII: Battle of Milne Bay!
All are welcome to play.
Runs on September 6 in Special Events II Arena at three times:
-- 9 pm Melbourne time, 8 pm Tokyo time, noon London time (7 am Eastern Time US)
-- 3 pm Eastern (8 pm UK time)
-- 11 pm Eastern
-----------------------------------------------------------

Objective: Kill enemies, destroy objects, sink ships, and capture bases.

Event duration: 2 hours, but play as much or as little as you want of that.

Unlimited lives.
 
Allies (Bishops):
-- Aircraft available at a12 and a63.
-- P-40E, B-25C (as Hudson, glass-nose only, 8x250 lb only).
-- Vehicles available at a14.
-- M4A3(75), M3, M16 (all as ground forces).
-- LVTA2 and LVTA4 (as general troops) available at all fields.
Axis (Knights):
-- Aircraft available at a5 and a9.
-- A6M3, D3A1, G4M1.
-- Vehicles available at a3.
-- Panzer IVH, SdKfz, M16 (all as ground forces).
-- LVTA2 and LVTA4 (as general troops) available at all fields and at task groups.
-- c47 and c48 start in sector 7.12.
 
No dot radar is available -- only sector counters.
Destroyed barracks and ammo bunkers stay down for 5 minutes.
Destroyed vehicle hangar stays down for 5 minutes.
Task groups stay around (and able to launch LVT's) for 45 minutes after carrier sunk.
 
Points:
-- 1 point per kill of an enemy.
-- 0.1 point per object destroyed.
-- 10 points per ship sunk.
-- 25 points per base capture.
 
Side split 50/50.
 
Arena Settings:
Terrain = coralsea
Country order/reset = 3,1,2
ArenaFlags = 13358
ChangeCountryTime = 0
ColorFog[Day] = 153/164/187
ColorSky[Day] = 135/160/196
DeathMaxCount = 0
DeathTimeMin = 0
ExitWhileMoving = 508
FlightModeFlags = 5248
FuelBurnRateMult = 1.0
RadarMode = 0
ResetAirFieldCnt = 1
ResetTotalFieldCnt = 1
StratFlags = 1
TaskGroupCommandCnt = 4
TaskGroupRespawnTime = 45
 
Object Settings:
Bunk Ammo, Down Time = 5
Bunk Barr, Down Time = 5
Veh Hgr, Down Time = 5
 
Weapons disabled:
For B-25C, glass nose only, 8x250 lb load only.
 
Map:
alt

Login